givefromtheheart

Giving. 

In my younger days, Christmas gave me the perfect excuse to hit the malls. Shopping around for gifts for just about anybody. Suddenly my friends list grew twice as long. Or thrice. Budget was tight back then, and most of the stuff came from Daiso, Watson’s or Guardian. I bought presents without the recipients in mind, just stuff that wouldn’t bust my budget. 

When I grew older, I start to put more thought into my choice of gifts. I felt guilty about spending on impractical stuff for my friends, things that they probably don’t need. This Christmas, I hope we put a little more thought into our gifts for the people close to our hearts and they need not require spending money sometimes.

Some of the best gifts I have received help me to lead a healthier and active lifestyle. The Fitbit Blaze made me more conscious about hitting 10 000 steps a day. You won’t believe it, but I have chosen the stairs over the lift and the escalator many times because I want to achieve my steps count. 

A good pair of running shoes. I have picked up running over the last 2 years and the shoes just keep me going on the journey. 

A set of BPA free lunch box and water bottle. More home-cooked food and plain water at work instead of eating out and taking sweet drinks!

A spa voucher. That comes complete with a soak and a massage. Rejuvenating. 🙂

Some of these are probably way too expensive. How about giving experiences? When was the last time you go on a movie date with your friends? Go camping? Go to a theme park and be young again? Go hiking/running together? 

Some of my friends have chosen to spend their money on other organizations for the underprivileged this Christmas. I’m so immensely proud of you Dina (and many others out there) for showing the way for us and your boys especially. 

If you are still at a loss on what to give, fall back on the trusty angbaos. Sometimes, the recipient knows best how to use the money. 🙂

This Christmas, I’m going to spend on creating memories and spending time with my family. Cut back on junk food when we gather. No candy canes for the kids. 

How will you give this Christmas? 🙂

Leave a Reply

